green light

San Francisco is a go.

I’m not really ready just yet, but I don’t think I can ever be 100% prepared.  Especially since a lot of factors scream NO.  I will be increasing my commute time from 15 minutes to 1 hour 1/2 (at best), I teach a morning class twice a week at SJSU, the weather will be cold and foggy (possibly rainy) during this month and next, and I will be cutting down the time I spend with J and my family.

With all of these factors weighing against me, I’ve already decided to leave for SF this Wednesday.

The “ideal moment” and the “best time” really doesn’t exist for me.  If I want to do something, I do it.  If I don’t do it now, I may never find the time (or the nerve) to do it later.  I tend to overanalyze, which can inform my decisions and also paralyze them.  If I’m too busy thinking and waiting for that “perfect moment” that may never come, I might lose the opportunity altogether.  I deny myself the experience of confronting challenges head on if I am too fixated on anticipating the challenges beforehand.

My latest strategy for the past couple of years?  Quiet the voice of caution and dive right in!  One, it will be too late to turn around and flee (e.g. moving to Los Angeles).  Two, I typically find myself learning to adapt quickly out of fear/panic/necessity or excitement (e.g. teaching in Los Angeles).  Three, I appreciate the experience and almost never regret it – no matter how challenging (e.g. teaching in INNER-CITY Los Angeles).

With that in mind, here’s to a challenging and exciting month ahead in the City!

1 Comment

Filed under city travels, epiphany, photography

One response to “green light

  1. “Carpe Diem!”
    Seize the carp!

Leave a Reply

